Main content

eGovernment Equivalence Regulation

The eGovernment Equivalence Regulation allows some electronic identities from other EU Member States to be used as the “citizen card”. This makes an important contribution to European interoperability.

The new regulation in § 6 Par. 5 of the eGovernment Act (enacted on January 1, 2008) made it possible for some foreign signature and identification cards to be used as citizen cards. This refers to cards that are accepted as official proof of the person's unique identity in their home country. These cards must also fulfil the requirements of equal status that are set down in the eGovernment Equivalence Regulation.

Currently, these requirements are fulfilled by cards in Belgium, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia and Spain. As of 29 September 2018, all electronic means of identification that were issued in other Member States and meet certain quality criteria are also to be acknowledged in Austria as a result of the EU Regulation no. 910/2014. The eGovernment equality regulation is therefore anticipated to be replaced by this point in time.

Link to the Legal Information System of Austria (RIS)

eGovernment Equivalence Regulation (in German)